Haggling

October 3, 2007 at 8:41 pm (General nonesense, Trimming the budget)

I love going to the Chiropractor. It makes me feel so much better and more balanced. It also costs $20 in copay every time I want to go. I started going when I was in pain, therefor, I had to go three times a week. I thought this was worth it because I was in pain. After a few months of slowly tapering off to one day a week, the copay was really starting to make a dent in our already stretched to the breaking point budget.

One day on my way home, my car was sputtering and stalling all the way as well as overheating…I had enough. Something had to give… we had to get a new “used” car and we weren’t going to be able to do it with me spending $80 a month at the chiropractor’s office. I decided I would have to stop going, and that was the end of it.

I really hated the idea of not going.

I am a bit over weight and just started working at a coffee shop part time. It is difficult work standing and serving customers for 4 or more hours a day. I didn’t know how I was going to do this without going to the chiropractor.

So, I gathered all my courage and went to the office to negotiate. I asked if I could keep coming and not pay my copay. I explained that something had to give, either I would stop the chiropractic care all together or stop paying my copay. They said I had great benefits through my insurance and would be willing to let me continue without paying my copay each time. I was SO grateful, and a bit proud of myself for asking in the first place.

Leave a Reply

